Skip to main content

EDU Graduate Research

This course site will provide you with research resources additional to the Library's Education research guides. They are specific to this EDU 595 section.

Introduction

This page offers educational websites that may prove useful to your research. 

Of possible use...

American FactFinder Guided Search

This is a resource from the U.S. Census Bureau. The FactFinder allows you to search via numerous social demographics, including some regarding education (these are known as specific "datasets"). We have hyperlinked to the guided search, which walks you through the steps necessary for intricate searches. 


Childcare and Early Education Research Connections
The Condition of Education summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data. The report presents 49 indicators on the status and condition of education, in addition to a closer look at high schools in the United States over the past twenty years.. The indicators represent a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education for which accurate data are available. 

ChildStats.gov 
The official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. The site provides easy access to the forum's annual monitoring report, America's Children, other Forum's reports, national- and state data on children and their families collected and published by various federal statistical agencies, as well as information about the Forum's major activities. 

Common Core of Data 
The CCD is a program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics that annually collects fiscal and non-fiscal data about all public schools, public school districts and state education agencies in the United States. The data are supplied by state education agency officials and include information that describes schools and school districts, including name, address, and phone number; descriptive information about students and staff, including demographics; and fiscal data, including revenues and current expenditures. 

Condition of Education 
The Condition of Education summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data. The report presents 49 indicators on the status and condition of education, in addition to a closer look at high schools in the United States over the past twenty years.. The indicators represent a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education for which accurate data are available. 

Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). To qualify for inclusion in the Digest, material must be nationwide in scope and of current interest and value. The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education. Supplemental information on population trends, attitudes on education, education characteristics of the labor force, government finances, and economic trends provides background for evaluating education data. 

Education Finance Statistics Center
Use this site to get finance information on public elementary/secondary education. For summary figures and tables, see the Finance Graphs, or, for specific public school district finance data, comparisons with other school districts, and school district fiscal and nonfiscal data over time, visit the Data Tools page.
 
The mission of the IES is to provide rigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and share this information broadly. By identifying what works, what doesn't, and why, we aim to improve educational outcomes for all students, particularly those at risk of failure. IES is the research arm of the U.S. Department of Education, and by law our activities must be free of partisan political influence. 

Integrated Post Secondary Education Data System
IPEDS is the core postsecondary education data collection program for the National Center for Education Statistics, a part of the Institute for Education Sciences within the United States Department of Education. IPEDS consists of nine interrelated survey components that are collected over three annual periods (Fall, Winter, and Spring). The completion of all IPEDS surveys is mandatory for all institutions that participate in or are applicants for participation in any federal financial assistance program. 

International Comparisons in Education / International Activities Program
NCES produces indicator reports of international data on education, such as the biennial Comparative Indicators of Education in the United States and Other G8 Countries. It also hosts a library of international data tables.

National Assessment of Education Progress
NAEP is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, U.S. history, and beginning in 2014, in Technology and Engineering Literacy (TEL).

Since NAEP assessments are administered uniformly using the same sets of test booklets across the nation, NAEP results serve as a common metric for all states and selected urban districts. The assessment stays essentially the same from year to year, with only carefully documented changes. This permits NAEP to provide a clear picture of student academic progress over time.

National Center for Education Statistics
The purpose of the National Center for Education Statistics' website is to provide clear, complete information about NCES' mission and activities, and to serve the research, education and other interested communities. NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.  

NEA Almanac of Higher Education
Published annually, provides NEA higher education members with current information on the entire scope of American higher education.  It contains up-to-date information on faculty salaries and benefits, the economic conditions in the states, faculty workload, trends in bargaining, and information on non-faculty professionals on campus.

Fast Facts
      The primary purpose of the Fast Facts website is to provide users with concise information on a range of educational  
      issues, from early childhood to adult learning. Fast Facts draw from various published sources and are updated as new     
      data becomes available. Additional references on each of these topics are highlighted within each fact. 
 
School District Demographics System
     The School District Demographics System provides access to school district demographic and related geographic data. 
     The site's purpose is: 
     1. To provide access to information about demographics, social characteristics, and economics of children and school districts from the National   Center for Education Statistics (NCES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
     2. To enable users to directly access school district geographic and demographic data.
     3. To provide information about school district demographic concepts, uses, and applications to facilitate effective use of these information resources.
 
The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate programs. NEA has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States. To access their research, visit their Tools and Ideas page. 

Public School Finance Data
Education finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets [cash and security holdings] of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover school systems in all states, and include the District of Columbia. Data are available in viewable tables and downloadable files. 

StateMaster
This website was created by Rapid Intelligence, an independently funded web publishing company. Some textual content created by StateMaster is published under a Creative Commons license. 

StateMaster was developed in order to provide a free educational resource for people looking for updated and essential information about the United States, giving people a greater insight into the study of our country. SM seeks to promote knowledge and education of the United States, by creating a central location where states can be compared on just about anything. SM hopes to create greater awareness and promote educated discussion of policy with reference to empirical data. Rapid Intelligence has created a site that's a quick and ready reference, so that ordinary citizens can have greater access to the figures that shape our nation and thus be more involved in the political process, as well as be more educated participants in the community and economy. 

There is a sister site from the publisher called NationMaster, which you may also find relevant for your research.  On both sites, you can access 'Education' research by using the third scroll bar centered on the homepage.  

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Education 
From pre-primary school enrolment to tertiary graduation rates, the UIS is the leading source for international education statistics. Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing.

The UIS does not just produce data – we analyze our indicators in order to provide the information needed for effective policymaking. The UIS produces a series of analytical publications, such as the annual Global Education Digest, regional reports, as well as thematic reports on education finance, for example. 

U.S. Department of Education 
The mission of the Department of Education is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. It engages in four major types of activities:

  1. Establishes policies related to federal education funding, administers distribution of funds and monitors their use.
  2. Collects data and oversees research on America's schools.
  3. Identifies major issues in education and focuses national attention on them.
  4. Enforces federal laws prohibiting discrimination in programs that receive federal funds.

Useable Knowledge from Harvard Graduate School of Education

Free-to-access research from education practitioners and social scientists across the globe.  

Pew Research Center

According to their website, the Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions. Conduct a search on education as a way to identify social trends or the effect education has on the American population.