NU Library Research Guides: Fine Arts Research: Home

Best Bets for Fine Arts Research

Ebook Central (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A large collection of electronic books
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database system provides access to magazines, journal articles, newspapers, ebooks, and dissertations.
Taylor & Francis Online: Social Science and Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text access to scholarly articles in fourteen subject areas.
Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary journal and magazine database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to deep back files of many scholarly journals in the arts and social sciences. (The most recent issues are usually 3 to 5 years old.)
New York Times Archive 1851-2018 (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles beginning with the newspaper's first issue in 1851. Does not include current issues. For current issues, go here: http://tinyurl.com/pakgu5w

Finding Books

When you are looking for great Fine Arts resources, don't forget books! Whether you need a piece about a specific artist, art criticism or art history, the library has you covered.

Try doing some searches in the library catalog. If you find some books that are useful to you, go up to that section of the library and browse the area. The library books are shelved by subject so there will be similar books around the book you found. In our catalog we have books and DVDs on:

Art History
Specific Artists
Art Criticism
Collectors and collecting
Architecture
Art from many cultures
...and much more!

Fine Arts Research

Questions?

Best Bets for Fine Arts Research

Finding Books

Videos

Citation Help