Skip to main content

Nursing and Medical Research: Databases

Database Searching.

Journal articles are the primary way nursing and medical research is disseminated.

Start with the following databases:

 Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost: This database helps you find articles in some of the leading nursing and medical journals. It is multidisciplinary and very up-to-date.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text via EBSCOhost
If you are doing any kind of nursing research, then you need to search CINAHL. This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It contains article citations for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health back to 1937. There is full text for about 770 journals.

Cochrane Library
The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Cochrane is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

Nursing Journals @ Ovid
Provides full-text access to 60 nursing journals. Also provides indexing and abstracting for more than a thousand medical, nursing and other health-related journals.

MEDLINE via PubMed; The most comprehensive medical database in the world is MEDLINE, which covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 12 million citations dating back to 1966 to the present. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.

PsycINFO via ProQuest
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.


ScienceDirect
Contains a few hundred full-text medical, nursing and psychology journals published by Elsevier, one of the world's leading scientific publishers.


Health Reference Center Academic via InfoTrac
Provides health information for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health research. There is full text for more than 150 journals and magazines.

Tip:

When searching EBSCOhost you can set up a My EBSCOhost  account that provides a secure place to store and manage your EBSCOhost search results as well as save  persistent links to searches, Journal Alerts, Search Alerts, Images, Videos and Saved Searches, beyond your  current EBSCOhost session.

 

 

 

Contact Your Liaison

Jonathan Coe's picture
Jonathan Coe
Contact:
Phone: 716-286-8005

Email: jcoe@niagara.edu
Website