Skip to main content

REL 347

This course site will provide you with research resources additional to the Library's Religious Studies research guides. There are three interactive tutorials you must complete under the link Database Tutorials.

Possible Websites for Use

These are simply a few sources to get you started. This list is by no means comprehensive. To find more credible websites related to your research topic, add site:org, edu, gov, etc. to the end of your keyword search. For example, your topic is "The Role of Christianity in Africa for Christian Theology". Using a search engine such as Google type Christianity and Theology and Africa and site:org into the search box. You will only receive  results from .org websites. NOTE: The website endings listed are more credible sources. However, they still need to be evaluated for credibility. For example, Take a look at this source. Is it credible? How can you tell? Are there sources listed? Are they credible? When was the last time the website was updated? Who is the author? If a specific author's name is not listed, the organization may also act as the author. Considering the aforementioned criteria listed, this source would be the better option if you were doing research on the same topic
 
Descriptions of the following sources were taken from site's About Us page. If you have have questions about the credibility of a source, visit the About Us page to identify the goal/mission of the information on the site. 

The Association of Religious Data Archives

- A resource for data collection and surveys, from across the globe, as compiled by various governments and universities.

The Catholic Liturgical Library

- Articles, documents, and other artifacts involving the history and context (both historical and modern) of the Roman liturgies.

Catholic News Agency

- Offers free access to news items to Catholic Dioceses, parishes, and websites in order to increase awareness of the activities of the universal Church and further create a Catholic culture in the life of each of the faithful. 

The Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences

- CTNS is committed to drawing theologians, religious scholars, ethicists, philosophers, and historians into conversation with natural scientists. Through this interaction, CTNS hopes to foster a legacy of mutually enriching scholarship that will continue to serve as a foundation for science-religion dialogue. Over its thirty year history, CTNS has engaged in some of the most respected and well-known research on the relationship between the natural sciences and theology.  Many of their recent research summaries are available online.

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library

- The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The website offers many of the resources free in PDF and/or HTML format.

Code of Canon Law (The Laws of the Roman Catholic Church)

- An HTML version of the canonical legislation for the Latin Rite of the Catholic Church.

 Dictionary of African Christian Biography 

An electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of African Christian leaders, evangelists, and lay workers chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Christian communities in Africa.

Internet Christian Library

- ICLnet was developed as an archive to support research, and then expanded as a ministry function. Those services included publishing the Faculty Dialogue and sponsoring a host of writing seminars and workshops for faculty which address critical issues facing Christian higher education. Volunteers continue to maintain existing materials and their links, as well as research new ones.

The John Templeton Foundation

- The John Templeton Foundation is a philanthropic organization that funds inter-disciplinary research about human purpose and ultimate reality.  Their “Signature Programs” link from the homepage offers free access to comprehensive examinations they have sponsored.

A Journal of Biblical and Textual Criticism

- Abbreviated “TC”, A Journal of Biblical Textual Criticism is an electronic journal dedicated to the study of the Jewish and Christian biblical texts. Articles on any aspect of the textual criticism of the Jewish and Christian scriptures (including extracanonical and related literature) are welcome, and contributions that transcend the traditional boundary between textual criticism of the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament and New Testament textual criticism are especially encouraged. Articles that discuss the relationship between textual criticism and other disciplines are also in demand.

Library of Congress Dead Sea Scrolls Exhibit

- The exhibition Scrolls From the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship brings before the American people a selection from the scrolls which have been the subject of intense public interest. Over the years, questions have been raised about the scrolls' authenticity, about the people who hid them away during the period in which they lived, about the secrets the scrolls might reveal, and about the intentions of the scrolls' custodians in restricting access.

The Library's exhibition describes the historical context of the scrolls and the Qumran community from whence they may have originated; it also relates the story of their discovery 2,000 years later. In addition, the exhibition encourages a better understanding of the challenges and complexities connected with scroll research.

New Advent

- A Catholic news and archive repository featuring the Catholic Encyclopedia [1907-’12], religious journalism (fact-based, and editorials), famous biographies and much more.

Patheos Library 

- You may need to select Christianity.

Saint John’s University (MN) Hill Museum & Manuscript Library

- The HMML is a non-profit organization located at and sponsored by Saint John's Abbey and University in Collegeville, Minnesota. HMML’s mission is to identify, digitally photograph, catalog, and archive the contents of manuscripts belonging to threatened communities and to make the copies available to users around the world through online catalogs.  

Since its founding in 1965, HMML has partnered with 480 libraries and archives to photograph more than 125,000 manuscript books dating from the ancient to early modern eras, totaling some 40,000,000 handwritten pages. HMML's online catalog contains over 93,000 entries. Its online library contains sample images from digitized collections, and free access via a password-protected service.

St. Pachomius Library

- This is the virtual encyclopedia of Orthodox Christianity

Second Edition English Translation of the Catechism of the Catholic Church

- This resource includes the corrections promulgated by Pope John Paul II on 8 September 1997. These corrections to the English text of the Catechism of the Catholic Church were made to harmonize it with the official Latin text promulgated by Pope John Paul II on the same date.

The State of the Vatican

- The official homepage of the Vatican City State.

University of San Diego Ethics Database

- Ethics Updates was founded in 1994 to complement the bibliographical essays within the pair of books, Ethics: A Pluralistic Approach to Moral Theory, and Contemporary Moral Issues, both by Prof. Lawrence M. Hinman of the University. As the site developed, a number of new features were added. 

An on-line library of classic texts provides the basis of the Reference Library. The Ethics Calendar provides information about ethics-related conferences around the world. The Ethics Forums provide a place for students to discuss the ethical issues covered in the site. Ethics Case Studiespresents numerous case studies in applied ethics, and each case study has an accompanying discussion folder. The site also contains guides to writing ethics papers, and a glossary of key terminology.

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom

- The USCIRF's principal responsibilities are to review the facts and circumstances of violations of religious freedom internationally and to make policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State, and Congress.

The Vatican Government (the Holy See)

- The official Vatican home page, which presents news services, information on the history of the Catholic Church (and departments of the Roman Curia), as well as Church policies.

Zenit Religious News (based in Rome)

- ZENIT is a non-profit news agency that reports on the Catholic Church and issues important to it from the perspective of Church doctrine.