Skip to main content

Assessment at Niagara University Library: Description

Description

This page provides a general description of the Library that can be useful for NU staff completing reports or grants that require Library information. 

In 2015-2016, the Library expended $614,014 on information resources. The collection currently consists of 150,000 print book and audiovisual titles, 357,000 electronic books, and more than 30,000 periodical titles.  Approximately 4,000 book and audiovisual titles are purchased each year. 

The Library subscribes to a diverse collection of more than 90 databases including many that provide access to scholarly research in ... For example: (Ask David Schoen for a description of subject specific resources or view Research Guides).

Students can acquire materials not owned by Niagara University by making use of robust Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services. In 2007, the Library made a substantial investment to acquire ILLiad, the premier Interlibrary Loan management system. All Niagara University students and faculty can easily create interlibrary loan requests, track those requests, and have journal articles delivered to their desktops.

Librarians support student and faculty research in person, or via email, telephone, text message, and online chat.

In support of an important General Education Goal, the Library provides Information Literacy Instruction. In 2015-16, 206 sessions were taught by librarians reaching 3,826 attendees. This program is large for a University of our size.

In 2012, the University’s computer lab and IT Help desk were moved to the Library. In April 2013, the entire first floor was opened to students for 24-hour access. In December 2016, 24-hour access was expanded to the second floor. 

The Library ensures service quality through ongoing assessment, the results of which are shared with the Niagara community here: http://niagara.libguides.com/assessment. Database usage and circulation are regularly examined for collection development purposes. Regular benchmark studies are conducted. Faculty and students are surveyed about their needs. Library liaisons communicate with faculty, which results in improvements to the journal, book, and audiovisual collections. 

Generally speaking, students are satisfied with the Library. In the Spring of 2016, Niagara University conducted a campus-wide satisfaction survey. 79 statements were scored on a seven-point scale. The following areas averaged Satisfaction scores of 6 or higher:

6:05: The Institution has a good reputation within the community.

6.04: Nearly all Faculty are knowledgeable in their field.

6.00: Library staff are helpful and approachable.

The statement “Library Resources and Services” ranked in the top ten in Satisfaction.

6:05: The Institution has a good reputation within the community.

6.04: Nearly all Faculty are knowledgeable in their field.

5.94: On the whole, the campus is well-maintained.

5.92: Tutoring services are readily available.

5.91: Faculty are usually available after class and during office hours.

5.90: The Campus is safe and secure for all students.

5.90: Library resources and services are adequate.

5.90: My academic advisor is knowledgeable about requirements in my major.

5.90: I am able to experience intellectual growth here.

Niagara University Library scores higher than the benchmark of National Four Year Privates at a “difference statistically significant at the .001 level.”

For more Information about the Library, contact:

David Schoen
Contact:
Phone:716-286-8002
Fax: 716-286-8030
Email: schoen@niagara.edu